Home » Uncategorized » Dragged kicking and screaming into the post-grad school world

Dragged kicking and screaming into the post-grad school world

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAHello intrepid reader,

I’ve put off creating a blog for a while- mostly because I had a doctoral thesis to work on- but now that its in I can focus on the everyday world outside of the academic campus. I can read books that have absolutely nothing to do with my research again without feeling that lingering guilt about how time was being effectively used. First world problems, but personal ones nonetheless.
I’ve also begun my first non-medieval work of research since I was completing my BA- assisting in the location of local photographs of a WW1 soldier buried in Belgium. I enjoy the hunt for information, I suppose I wouldn’t have decided to go into archaeology and anthropology if I didn’t. More to come in the future.
For now though here is a photo of a sequence of churches at Kirkjuboer in the Faroe Islands. In the front of the shot is the last wall of the earliest acknowledged church, with the later medieval church and the ruined cathedral of Mururin in the background. The cathedral is covered by protective sheet metal to slow the destruction of the building further.

Leave a Reply

