Home » Uncategorized » Prologue to Kalamazoo

Prologue to Kalamazoo

  

Briefly before getting on to the main part of this post: I’ve seen the cover for my first book from the publisher and it looks satisfyingly eye-catching. Once it is fully formatted I’ll probably start shamelessly self-promoting.

Right- now that’s done on to the rest. The name says it all, folks, this post is about the lead up for the largest conference of my career to date. And, honestly, I’m more anxious than a long-tailed cat in a room of rocking chairs. There is a lot behind that feeling.

Once upon a time there was a student who wanted more than anything to be an archaeologist. She attended community college and transfered to the top public university. This is the story of many. But very few had a time conflict with modern languages offered and so were allowed to take part in the graduate level Old Norse seminars. Grad school took place with negotiation, a lot of work and the rollercoaster of life. Part of that rollercoaster were missed opportunities- one of which was the 45th International Congress of Medieval Studies. The world has moved on and I’m honored to be part of the 50th Congress, speaking in the Viking Society’s 3:30 session on Friday. You might see me if you attend. I’m tall and will be wearing a hat, as always.

Most of my packing is complete. My portfolio is secure in its plastic sleeve so I can show some of my friends and mentors when I see them. The powerpoint, script, and handout- the real reason for even going- are done. Provided I can master accessing campus wifi I’ll try to provide daily updates and random tweets on my Twitter account.

Leave a Reply

