Home » Uncategorized » April

April

Its been a month of extremes, Reader. A publisher found and the first coverage of my first book’s release- happy, if wicked busy, times. Amidst this though, and just as I was reaching stride production-wise, tragedy. One of my close friends- one of the people Viking Nations is actually dedicated to- was killed in a horrific car accident at the beginning of this week.

I’ll put the words down here for now, I guess. The only real comparison for the feeling I have is its very similar to the childhood riding accident that led to my diagnosis with TMJ. Things were going well and then all of a sudden I was on the ground, landing on my shoulder and neck and the wind knocked out of me. I don’t actually remember a few days because of concussion related to that but up to the point where I left the saddle I remember quite clearly. I apparently was coherent during the time I don’t recall.

Realizing my friend was gone was a little like that. That same feeling the ground has fallen away but is approaching so fast, with the knowledge that it will be bringing pain with it.

Needless to say, its been very difficult to focus lately. My one-woman illustration operation is slowly getting back together. I’d had a whole stack of happy worded emails ready to type up the morning I got the call.

img20160429_16095179.jpg

Although an incredibly shit situation, the out pouring of love, support and people to come together for basically the week-long wake we’ve had thus far for Dave would have made him cry. I keep looking for him to show up. Late of course. I’m probably not the only one that feels that way.

My Isle of Misfit Toys has lost a few untimely. Dave’s best friend was one of these. This is a sketch I did for a requested memorial portrait of the boys. Its one of the hardest works I’ve done, but its of the two kindest people I’ve ever had the honor of knowing. On the left is Brandon Rodgers [who was actually taller but was being silly at the time]. On the right is my friend David Phillips. They were both great guys.

img20160428_15292534 The completed piece is up in a friend’s house currently.

 

 

Leave a Reply

